Being a Good Employee

Recently, I’ve started taking on more responsibility at work. At the end of last year, I was offered the chance to take part in a last minute consult session with a client. This opportunity came at 4:45 on a friday afternoon without warning. I was taken off-guard and completely out of my comfort zone. Despite my trepidation and sudden lack of faith in myself and my skills, I went along with it. I’m so glad I did because volunteering for that consult session has opened many other doors for me. 

I have been given the chance to work on another consult site as well as working on site mockups and more high profile accounts. It’s almost unbelievable how quickly this chance came along for me but there have been several things I’ve been doing at work to show that I’m willing to take on more responsibility and advance myself within the company.

Volunteering for Extra Activities
I have joined both the New Hire Ambassadors program and the Employee Engagement Committee at work. Now, joining work groups may not be everyone’s things but there’s always chances to do something a little but extra at work. This may be something like organizing a potluck or holiday party. Showing that you’re interested in the company culture and willing to engage with your coworkers will show your managers that you’re invested in your job. 

Socializing with Coworkers
I’m not saying you should devote your work day to hanging out with your friends and not getting work done but interacting with those around you is always a good idea. Not only are you making professional connections but you’re also connecting with people who can give you design critique, offer up advice and help with any issues you may run into. Taking a break now and again throughout the day helps rest your brain for a bit and taking a quick walk with coworkers can help break out of the monotony that sometimes happens. Again, this shows your managers that you’re not only there to do your job but that you want to be involved in the culture.

Not Whining
This may seem like an obvious statement but, don’t whine about your job. Whining gets you nowhere and accomplishes nothing. There are a few people who sit around me who have a very negative attitude towards the work they are doing and the people they interact with. Of course there are going to be frustrating clients and projects you’re going to work. However, complaining about your predicament instead of simply solving your own issues is not going to look good and won’t be favorable in the eyes of those around you.

These are only three simple things but they can help you achieve a lot. Part of being a good employee is going far and beyond your basic employee duties and striving to be the best you can be.

 

Leave a comment